Gee, Cover Songs Can Be Magical

29 Jul

I will admit, cover songs can be frustrating.  I mean, are people just so unoriginal that they can’t come up with their own songs?  In some cases, yes.  But in other cases of pure genius, someone just sees a song in a totally different light, and has the creative imagination to completely reinvent a song into an unexpected masterpiece.

From this...

Take, for instance, T.I.’s “Whatever You Like” – a classic bump and grind song that instinctively made my hand jab at the buttons on my car radio to make it stop whenever the DJ’s chose to play it (which they did all the time last year as those obnoxious hit singles tend to do).

To be perfectly honest, the song creeps me out.  The gruff voice in the chorus sounds seductive in an evil way, like an older man trying to corrupt a young and innocent woman with the open-ended line, “You can have whatever you like” repeated over and over.

But then I heard Anya Marina‘s cover of the song, and my perception of the song was forever changed.  Her voice is soothing and quiet as she gives the rough rap song a completely new identity.  The beat is slowed, the lines delivered with a soft passion that is actually quite charming.

“Yeah I want’cho body, I need yo body
Long as you got me you won’t need nobody
You want it I got it, go get it I buy it”

...To this.

Who would have thought that these words could actually sound angelic?  It just goes to show you – sometimes, cover songs actually have the power to magically transform songs in ways that you never would have thought possible.

Leave a Reply

