Gee, A Lil Quotation Inspiration

1 Aug

For some reason, I am fascinated by quotations (yes, I said “quotations” not quotes – my high school English teacher drilled into our heads the concept that “quote” is a verb, “quotation” is a noun and this rule cannot be broken).  Yes, they are words, but they are not just words.  I love searching for just the right combination of words that evokes emotion or thought.  They are not empty fluff, but they carry a weight.

One of my Quotation Crafts

I often find myself scrounging for quotations when I am crafting.  I put quotations on plaques and in collages, and I want the words to be just right for the feeling of the piece.  These words might come from a song, a book, a speech, a movie…anything really.  The author is also extremely important.  If I find a wonderful phrase and the mind behind it happens to be some controversial politician, the magnitude of the thought is ruined.

Today was one of those days that I spent rifling through pages and pages of quotations in search of a good one for a plaque that I am making.  As I surfed through Quoteland.com, I found that I really appreciate Ralph Waldo Emerson‘s thought bubbles.  Here are a few of my favorites:

  • “Friends, such as we desire, are dreams and fables.”
  • “A true friend is somebody who can make us do what we can.”
  • “Every wall is a door.”
  • “Make the most of yourself, for that is all there is of you.”
  • “Common sense is genius dressed in its working clothes.”
  • But this one really struck me:

    “When it is dark enough, you can see the stars.”

    It is ridiculously simple.  A second grader could pen this, in all reality.  But it is so true and it carries meaning beyond plain observation.  It’s a reminder: when things get extremely dark and unbearable, you can see the beauty of the stars.  All is not lost.

    Leave a Reply

