Gee, eBay’s A Beast Of Brilliance

3 Aug

When I was in middle school, I was required to read “The Perfect Store: Inside eBay” by Adam Cohen as a summer reading assignment.  Although I was not nearly as interested in marketing and technology as I am now, I could appreciate that the online marketplace was a product of genius.  When Pierre Omidyar first came up with the project, he had no clue that it would explode into a global giant of an online marketplace…but did it ever.

Having read the book on eBay’s rise to power, I was particularly interested in this article and infographic posted by Brian Clark Howard on Huffington Post (courtesy of digg.com).  Entitled, “eBay: The World’s MarketPlace,” it sums up the high points of eBay’s incredible story in one insightful image:

I personally have a soft spot in my heart for eBay.  As an avid online shopper, I have purchased a vast array of treasures on the site, ranging from designer purses to autographed photos of Daniel Radcliffe as Harry Potter (guilty).  This summer, I ventured into seller territory as I sold my first items on eBay.  It’s truly a magical process to post your items and gradually see the bidding go up.  It’s addictive, really.

eBay is one of those masterpieces that makes you say, “Why didn’t I think of that?”  (Personally, I was only 6 years old when it premiered.  Had I been another year older, I’m sure I would have been all over it…)  It’s extremely brilliant, but it just makes so much sense!  Pure gold.

Leave a Reply

