Gee, Where Did All The Pogs Go?

5 Aug

Today, I was working an event for my internship where there were lots of kids in attendance.  As I looked around, I noticed that nearly every child was sporting those silly “silly bandz.”  If you are unfamiliar with the concept of the bandz, Wikipedia defines it as,

“a brand of silicone rubber bands formed into shapes including animals, objects, and letters. They are distributed by BCP Imports and are normally worn as bracelets.”

This wasn’t the first time I saw these crazy fashion accessories.  Over the past few months, they have been creeping up everywhere.  As I stand in line to check out at a crafting store, I see the 100+ packs of them sitting beside the register to entice impatient children as their mothers scramble to get out of the store with their sanity intact.  Inside, I scratch my head every time that I see them.  What is the point?  Why are they so addictive?  But then I look back on my childhood and realize that I am, in fact, a huge hypocrite.

Growing up in the 1990’s, my big sister and I went absolutely bonkers over little cardboard circles.  That’s right, tiny little discs called “pogs” that were decorated with obscure images and designs to capture the hearts of children everywhere.  Although I am ashamed to admit it, it worked on me.  The pog pieces are supposed to resemble milk caps and are used in a game that my sister and I never actually played.  We just liked collecting them and comparing the pictures to see who’s little trinkets were cooler.  We had stacks and stacks of them, much like the image above.  Where they are now?  I could not begin to tell you.  Lame.

Apparently the whole crazy idea began in Hawaii a long long time ago, but I won’t bore you with the history.  You can visit the “Bad Fads” website for that.  The name of the site is incredibly fitting.  Enjoy perusing other articles and evoking that, “What was I thinking?” reaction over and over.  It’s a joy.

But this post isn’t about bashing the pathetic phases of my childhood.  Instead, I’d like to point out that, while I look back now and deem my behavior pathetic, it’s actually remarkably beautiful.  Children have the imaginations to turn the simplest of knick-knacks into precious treasures.  There are days when I still wish that I had that power.

…cardboard circles, though?  Really?  You can’t even wear those!

Leave a Reply

