Gee, It’s A Hump Day Jam With Foreign Flavor!

11 Aug

While studying abroad in Brussels, Belgium last fall, I spent a great deal of time exploring the city and surrounding areas.  When I wasn’t studying or working, I was scoping out museums, eating at unique restaurants, running through the historic park…there was certainly no shortage of things to do in good old BXL.  But when it came time to relax in Europe, it was difficult to kick back and enjoy a good hour of television.  Most of the channels were in French which my roommates and I did not speak.  BBC News and the music video channels kept us entertained in those rare couch potato moments.

While watching the music video channel, I came across this whimsical and carefree French tune called “Comme des enfants” by Coeur de Pirate.  The sweet music video and soft piano melody won me over.  For me, this song proves that true emotion can be found in the music itself, not necessarily the lyrics.  I don’t speak a word of French, but this song simply warms my heart.

If you’re looking for a more upbeat jam for your Wednesday pick-me-up, check out the remix by Le Matos Andy Carmichael.  A different vibe, but just as endearing.

Leave a Reply

