Gee, It’s a Fashion Surgery Survival Story

7 Oct

When I first laid eyes on it at a Vanity Fair outlet in Reading, Pennsylvania five years ago, I knew that we were meant to be together.  And since then, my love has only blossomed.  I have come to treasure my bargain Wisconsin Badgers sweatshirt.  But today, I decided that it had to go under the knife…errrr, scissors.

It was a pretty standard procedure, so I wasn’t too nervous.  I just wanted to cut the neckline down to give me an off-the-shoulder option and quite frankly, make it a little less stuffy.  But as I put the fabric between the sharp blades, I grew nervous.  Did I really want to change this?  What if I slipped to a severely wrong angle and slaughtered my precious sweatshirt?

To get to good fashion, you have to take risks.  That’s how you stay in the game.  Plain jane, color-in-the-lines style just doesn’t cut it.  So it was a bit scary, but it was time for a change.  And I’m happy with the outcome.  My cozy little sweatshirt got a little more edge with a few snips.

P.S. I am not an avid Wisconsin fan.  I simply love that they have such an amazing mascot.

Leave a Reply

